Make your own free website on


1685 Historic Mansion of James Buckelew

Upcoming Events

Educational Programs

Visitor Info


Become a Docent

The Story of the Lincoln Coach

Home Page

About Us

Visitor Info



 Civil War

2003 Buckelew day write-up in the Sentinel Newspaper

calculators  Site to do quizes on-line. free.

More indepth history- look at

Lakeview houses the coach used to carry president elect Lincoln from the train station to the State House in Trenton.

the speech lincoln gave at the NJ State House after traveling there by coach

New Jersey and the Civil War

Mr. Lincoln and the founders

Article on last Buckelew day

Timeline of Civil War from Library of Congress. 1861, the year Brindley is commissioned.
Cartes de visite, miniature portraits used as calling cards, were extremely popular during the American Civil War. These photographic calling cards, approximately 2 x 4 inches in size, had been invented in France in the early 1850s, and their popularity quickly spread throughout Europe and eventually to the United States, where the corollary development of the photograph album spurred a collecting craze in the 1860s that became known as Cartomania.1 In addition to assembling albums of family photographs, the public sought to collect images of celebrities and views of favorite places and sites. John Hay (1838-1905), a personal secretary to President Abraham Lincoln (1809-1865) who later had a successful diplomatic and political career of his own, is thought to have assembled the cards in this album


Library of Congress civil War Photos

There are no known restrictions on these photographs. However, approximately fifty of the portraits of soldiers (mostly enlisted men) are copies of photographs that the Library of Congress borrowed during the 1950s and early 1960s. (The catalog records for these images contain a note field that begins "Copy photo made by LC . . . ."). After copying, the original photographs were returned to their owners but the Library did not retain a record of the owner's names and addresses. The Library is not aware of any restrictions on these images, but is anxious to hear from individuals or institutions that own the original photographs or who know of their history.

Suggested credit line: Library of Congress, Prints & Photographs Division, [reproduction number, e.g., LC-B8184-3287]


For guidance about compiling full citations consult Citing Electronic Sources on the learning page.

More information about American Memory Collections, Copyright, and Other Restrictions is available.





   When the Lakeview House was first built in 1685, this area was essentially wilderness.  When the first settlers arrived the land was forests, with Indian trails a few yards wide, so walking was the only means of transportation, or perhaps a small cart or sleigh.   The Dutch owned the land, but wanted to encourage settlement, so Governer Van Twiller, of New Amsterdam (now called New York) invited New England settlers into dutch held lands.  In 1665 was a large migration from New Hampshire to the Rairitan River, from New Haven to Newark, and from Newburg, Mass. to the Raritan.  The English took over in 1675, and under the English Proprietors, it became important to connect travel between New York and Philadelphia.  A road was constructed from Amboy to Bordentown by Gawen Lawrie in 1694. 

<a href="" target="_top"><img border="0" alt="" src="" ALIGN="middle" HSPACE="4" VSPACE="2"></a><br><a href="" target="_top"><font color="#666666">Hit Counter</font></a>



Field trips

Step into History


Thanks for visiting!  Do you have any questions?  Comments?
Created by Lynn Lakner  in conjunction with the Jamesburg Historical Association
Pages created April 25, 2005.   Last revised February, 2005
All rights reserved.  Disclaimer



Thanks for visiting! Do you have any questions? Comments?
E-mail to Tammy Payton, web editor,
last updated March 14, 1998 ** pages created May 28, 1997
Copyright 19971998 Loogootee Community Schools
All rights reserved. Disclaimer



The information provided within the site of Loogootee Elementary West is for educational purposes only. References to commercial products or trade names are made with the understanding that no discrimination is intended, nor is there endorsement by any of the agencies involved.

While reasonable efforts have been made to ensure the accuracy of information provided by the aforementioned site, it is subject to change without notice and cannot be guaranteed to be current. Furthermore, the authors of these sites do not have editorial oversight for all documents referenced here and cannot be held responsible for their content.

Users may find links to independently managed WWW servers. Questions and comments regarding these WWW servers should be directed to the webmaster or administrator of the respective server who is responsible for its content. Please send questions or comments about the information provided here, including reference to possible errors or omissions, to the document's author or to:

web editor Tammy Payton


snail mail to:

Loogootee Elementary West
Costello Drive
Loogootee, Indiana 47553
attn: web page

Phone: (812) 295-2833
Fax: (812) 295-5595

Return to Loogootee Elementary West Homepage

last updated March 14, 1998 ** pages created July 15, 1996
Copyright 19961998 Loogootee Community Schools
All rights reserved.  See lesson foot to flight grade 2 Oracle Thinkquest educational webpages.